Skip to content
LazyEloGet the app
Menu
Kindred splash art

League apps without Overwolf: what still needs it, what doesn't

Mobalytics still needs Overwolf. Porofessor runs with or without it since December 5, 2025. Blitz, OP.GG Desktop and the U.GG app never needed it: they are Electron apps with ads in their free versions. Hexgate, Warden and LazyElo are native apps. All of these are Windows desktop apps; only OP.GG Desktop has a Mac build.

Updated October 30, 202610 appsEvery fact sourcedWindows 10 and 11

Updated . Written by the maker of LazyElo, so read it as one side's view; every fact about another app or about Riot links to its source, and where our sources are silent the page says so. This page answers “which apps”; whether Overwolf itself is safe is a page of its own: is Overwolf safe?

Why people leave Overwolf

Overwolf is not malware. It is an app platform with a 4.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 684 reviews, and it says every app it publishes is “manually tested for quality, malware and performance”. The reasons players look for an alternative are elsewhere: the ads it runs inside free apps, the memory and CPU of a second client next to the game, the way it starts with Windows, and a reputation as “bloatware” on Blizzard and ARK forums, where one post calls it “invasive, the ads are atrocious”.

Google reads “overwolf alternative” three ways: overlays for any game, League tools, and World of Warcraft addon managers. This page is about League of Legends. If you came for CurseForge or a recorder, the last FAQ points you on; everything else here is about the apps a League player runs next to the client, which is what companion apps for League, explained covers as a category.

Sources: Trustpilot: Overwolf; Overwolf: Our commitment; Blizzard forums: Overwolf safe?; ARK forum: “Your friendly reminder about Overwolf”

Ten League apps: Overwolf, engine, ads, price, platform

Checked against the vendors' own pages where they load, otherwise against rival apps' comparisons, which say so in the source list. Where our sources are silent the cell says so.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

League of Legends apps compared on Overwolf, engine, ads, paid tier and platform, checked October 30, 2026
AppNeeds Overwolf?EngineAds in the free tierPaid tierWindows / MacChecked on
MobalyticsYes. Installing the desktop app installs the Overwolf client too.[1, 2]Overwolf app, 27.7 MB on top of the client[1]Yes; Plus removes them[1, 3]Plus: $9.99 a month, $24.99 for three months or $69.99 a year, 7-day trial[3, 4]Windows[1]Oct 26, 2026
Porofessor (Overwolf build)Yes[5]Overwolf app, 3.0 MB on top of the client[5]Yes; Premium removes them[5]Premium; no public price on its site[5]Windows[5]Oct 26, 2026
Porofessor (standalone)No, since December 5, 2025. Overwolf stays the maker's ad and tech partner.[6]Electron, 99.8 MB[6, 7]Yes; Premium removes them[6, 5]Premium; no public price on its site[5]Windows[7]Oct 29, 2026
BlitzNo, and it never did[2]Electron, says Hexgate[2]Yes; users report autoplay video ads[8, 9]Premium: $4.99 a month or $3.33 a month billed yearly (Khaos, Oct 29, 2026); Hexgate lists $3.99[8, 10]Windows; its overlay is Windows only[9]Oct 29, 2026
OP.GG DesktopNo[2]Electron, says Hexgate; an 84 MB installer, by Warden's count[2, 11]Yes, says Hexgate[2]No paid tier found in our sourcesWindows and macOS[12]Oct 29, 2026
U.GG appNo[2]Electron, says Hexgate[2]Yes, says Hexgate[2]Plus: $3.99 a month or $2.49 a month billed yearly, 7-day trial (Hexgate, Oct 2026)[10]Windows; a Mac build is not stated in our sources[13]Oct 29, 2026
iTeroGoogle's AI answer for “lol ai coach” cites an Overwolf store listing for iTero; whether a build without Overwolf exists is not stated in the sources we checked.[14]Not stated in the sources we checkedNot stated in the sources we checkedNot stated in the sources we checkedNot stated in the sources we checkedOct 30, 2026
HexgateNo, by its maker[2]Native (Tauri and Rust), by its maker[2]Not stated in the sources we checkedFree for 3 games a day; Pro €9.99 a month[2]Windows[2]Oct 29, 2026
WardenNo, by its maker[11]Native, 26 MB, by its maker; in beta[11]None, by its maker[11]Not stated in the sources we checkedNot stated in the sources we checkedOct 30, 2026
LazyEloNo. A native Windows app of its own, no browser engine.Native, 50 MB installerNone, in any planFree plan without ads; Plus €4.99 a month or €39 a year; Pro €9.99 a month or €79 a year; 7-day trialWindows 10 and 11 (64-bit)October 30, 2026, version 0.15.1
  1. Mobalytics on the Overwolf store
  2. Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026
  3. Mobalytics Plus
  4. Hexgate (a rival app), prices checked Oct 4, 2026
  5. Porofessor on the Overwolf store
  6. M.O.B.A. Network press release, Dec 5, 2025
  7. Porofessor team on Reddit, Dec 2025
  8. Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app)
  9. Hexgate (a rival app): Porofessor vs Blitz, Oct 21, 2026
  10. Hexgate (a rival app): Blitz vs U.GG, Oct 21, 2026
  11. Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app): best League companion apps, Aug 2026
  12. op.gg/desktop
  13. u.gg/app
  14. itero.gg

“Electron” means the app ships a browser engine of its own; “native” means it doesn't. Neither says how much memory an app uses: the only published figures are iTero's (a rival) for Porofessor, about 1,000 MB in a game with Overwolf, and Mobalytics, about 1,400 to 2,000 MB, and our own for LazyElo further down. The app roundup with sources compares the same apps on what they do.

Source: iTero (a rival app), Mar 31, 2026

App by app: what runs without Overwolf, and what you give up

  • Porofessor, standalone

    The standalone build of December 5, 2025 drops the Overwolf client but not Overwolf itself: the press release says Overwolf “remains M.O.B.A.'s ad monetization and tech partner for all in-game apps”. So you keep the lobby scouting, the timers and the ads, on Electron instead of Overwolf. Premium removes the ads; its price isn't on the site.

    Sources: M.O.B.A. Network press release, Dec 5, 2025; Porofessor on the Overwolf store

  • Blitz

    Blitz never needed Overwolf. You get one-click rune and build import, pick and ban tips, a jungle pathing overlay and camp timers, and ads in the free version that users describe as autoplay video. Premium is $4.99 a month or $3.33 billed yearly. What you give up: nothing from Overwolf, but Electron brings a browser engine along.

    Sources: Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026; Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app); blitz.gg/lol

  • OP.GG Desktop

    An Electron app, 84 MB by Warden's count, with “a range of in-game overlays”, an AI Agent that talks during matches, and a macOS version, the only one in this list. Ads in the free version, says Hexgate. What you give up: a public response to Riot's October 2026 notice; we found none.

    Sources: op.gg/desktop; Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026; Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app): best League companion apps, Aug 2026; OP.GG Agent

  • U.GG app

    Electron, next to the u.gg website: champ select scouting, rune and build import by rank, role and matchup, a live stat tracker and a Carry Score after the game. Ads in the free version; U.GG Plus is $3.99 a month or $2.49 billed yearly.

    Sources: u.gg/app; Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026; Hexgate (a rival app): Blitz vs U.GG, Oct 21, 2026

  • Hexgate

    Hexgate describes itself as a native app built with Tauri and Rust, free for 3 games a day with Pro at €9.99 a month. It is also the rival whose comparison pages rank for most no-Overwolf searches, so read its grouping of other apps as a competitor's claim; we cross-checked the rows above against the vendors' own pages where they load.

    Source: Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026

  • Warden

    Khaos Studio says Warden is a 26 MB native app without ads, in beta. We haven't checked it ourselves, and its page is a vendor page that also ranks other apps, so treat its figures the same way as Hexgate's.

    Source: Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app): best League companion apps, Aug 2026

  • iTero

    iTero sells itself as an AI coach, and its own article (March 2026) is the source of the Porofessor and Mobalytics RAM figures you see quoted around the web. Whether it has a build without Overwolf isn't stated in the sources we checked, so it sits in the table with question marks rather than a guess.

    Sources: iTero (a rival app), Mar 31, 2026; itero.gg

  • LazyElo

    A native Windows app without Overwolf or a browser engine, no ads in any plan, and it never clicks, picks, locks or imports for you. We measured 428 MB of RAM idle in the lobby and 511 MB during a game with the overlay on at 0.0% CPU. An FPS test with and without LazyElo is still in progress, so we make no FPS claim yet. What you give up: rune import (it shows runes, you set them), timers and alerts (none, by design), and a Mac version (Windows 10 and 11 only).

Not a League player?

Then this is the wrong list. World of Warcraft addon managers, Minecraft modpacks through CurseForge and game recorders are a different question with different answers; CurseForge's own download page says which of its builds needs the Overwolf client, and a general software directory lists recorders and overlays per game. The rest of this page goes back to League.

Source: CurseForge app

What Riot changed on October 6, 2026, and what it means for Overwolf apps

“Starting October 6, 2026, Riot will begin proactively preventing game memory access by default for all unknown third-party applications”

That is Riot's support notice of September 29, 2026. It goes on: “For known and currently approved tools, we will have an extended grace period until April 2027, after which time, they will need to have switched to the official APIs”, and it says the change “This change does not result in bans by itself”. Three things follow for the apps in the table. Riot names no platform, so Overwolf is neither singled out nor cleared. The question for each app is not what it runs on but whether it reads game memory, and no maker in our sources says publicly that it does or doesn't. And tools Riot knows and has approved have until April 2027 to move to the official APIs; which tools those are, Riot doesn't say. As of October 30, 2026 we found no public statement from Porofessor, Blitz, Mobalytics, OP.GG, U.GG or Overwolf on the notice; the October 2026 explainer keeps that tracker up to date.

Source: Riot Support: Game Memory Access Removed for Third Party Apps (Sep 29, 2026)

LazyElo's take

Our app, so weigh this as the maker's account.
  • Native, no browser engine

    A Windows app of its own, 50 MB to install. No Overwolf client, no Electron.
  • No ads, in any plan

    The free plan has no ads and no end date; Plus and Pro add features, not ad removal.
  • It never clicks for you

    No rune or build import, no auto-accept, no picks or locks. It shows; you decide.
  • Measured, with version and date

    We measured 428 MB of RAM idle in the lobby and 511 MB during a game with the overlay on at 0.0% CPU. An FPS test with and without LazyElo is still in progress, so we make no FPS claim yet.
  • Honest limits

    No rune import, no timers or alerts, no Mac version. What it does show during a game is on what the overlay shows; how that compares with the others, on which overlay shows what.

Light on your PC

What LazyElo asks of your PC: first what follows from how it is built, then what we measured. We only put a number here once we have measured it.

By design

  • Native, without Overwolf

    A Windows app of its own. No Overwolf and no browser engine running next to your game.

  • No ads

    Nothing in the app loads ads or ad videos, in the lobby or during a game.

  • A small overlay

    The overlay is a separate see-through window. It only draws scoreboard info and redraws twice a second.

  • Nothing inside the game

    LazyElo reads the client and the game's own live data through the local connections Riot provides. It never runs inside the game process and never reads game memory.

Measured

In the lobby, idle

428 MBRAM0.0%CPU

Version 0.13.1, Windows, 32 logical cores, October 27, 2026

During a game, overlay on

511 MBRAM0.0%CPU

Version 0.13.1, Windows, 32 logical cores; 30 measurements, one a minute, over one game, October 27, 2026

FPS with and without LazyElo
Measurement in progress

Our own measurements, on one PC. RAM is the working set Windows reports for LazyElo. An FPS test with and without LazyElo follows here; until then we make no claim about it.

Questions and answers

Which League of Legends overlay doesn't need Overwolf?

Blitz, OP.GG Desktop, the U.GG app, Hexgate, Warden, Buildzcrank and LazyElo run without Overwolf, and Porofessor has a standalone build since December 5, 2025. Of those, Blitz, OP.GG Desktop, U.GG and the standalone Porofessor are Electron apps with ads in their free versions; Hexgate, Warden and LazyElo are native. Mobalytics' overlay needs Overwolf.

Sources: Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026; M.O.B.A. Network press release, Dec 5, 2025; Warden by Khaos Studio (a rival app): best League companion apps, Aug 2026; Buildzcrank overlays (a rival app)

Can I use Porofessor without Overwolf?

Yes. Since December 5, 2025 Porofessor also comes as a standalone app built on Electron, 99.8 MB, next to the Overwolf version. It still shows ads in the free version, because Overwolf stays the maker's ad partner; Premium removes them. The Overwolf build keeps working too.

Sources: M.O.B.A. Network press release, Dec 5, 2025; Porofessor team on Reddit, Dec 2025; Porofessor on the Overwolf store

Does Mobalytics require Overwolf?

Yes, the desktop app does: it runs only as an Overwolf app, and installing it installs the Overwolf client too. The mobalytics.gg website works without it. If you only want builds and guides, the site is enough; if you want the overlay and the in-client features, Overwolf comes with them.

Sources: Mobalytics on the Overwolf store; Hexgate (a rival app), Oct 21, 2026

Is Overwolf allowed in League of Legends?

Riot names no platform and no app, good or bad. Its rules are about behaviour: no botting or scripting, no drawing conclusions for you during gameplay, no information the game hides. Its Vanguard FAQ says overlays that use the API, the game client and in-game APIs should continue to function, and its October 2026 notice about game memory doesn't mention Overwolf. Riot also says it can't provide a full list of safe apps.

Sources: Riot Support: Third-Party Applications (Feb 10, 2025); Riot: Vanguard FAQ for developers; Riot Support: Game Memory Access Removed for Third Party Apps (Sep 29, 2026)

Does CurseForge need Overwolf?

That is a question for CurseForge's own download page, which says which build you get; it is a different product from a League app, and this page stays with League. If an Overwolf-based app put Overwolf on your PC and you want to know what it does there, the Overwolf page here explains it.

Source: CurseForge app

Try a League app that never needed Overwolf

Install LazyElo, make a free account and start a game. It follows champ select, the loading screen, the game and the review after, without a second client next to the game.